Researcher writing the results of a test tube

Dr Eric Simard

Dr. Simard is making important discoveries to slow the processes of aging. An educated scientist, he has always been particularly interested in the environment and human health. Thus, from his baccalaureate, Dr. Simard restarted the aquatic ecology laboratories of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, by mobilizing professors and developing two new research programs. Already working on a third research program, this time in human health, still during his graduate studies, he decided to pursue this subject at the doctorate level, at the INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier de Laval. His graduate studies were supported by obtaining 7 excellence scholarships and 5 awards/honors.

Dr. Simard comes from a small village in Lac-Saint-Jean, from a very modest family. His father having been seriously ill while he was still in high school, he promised to make a difference in human health, especially through preventative methods. This is how he decided, in 2013, to start his new research on human aging.

Photo of Dr Eric Simard, smiling

Aware that current knowledge already made it possible to formulate a large number of recommendations, in order to age healthily, Dr. Simard set out to write a book. By collaborating with three other health professionals, he reviewed more than 400 scientific references in order to create the
best reference tool
. He developed, one of the largest networks of health professionals (on LinkedIn), intended for preventative methods and healthy lifestyles. Dr. Simard is a valued developer and sought- after communicator.

The first book being a bestseller in Quebec, Dr. Simard decided to write a second in collaboration with Dr. Jacques Lambert, MD and two pharmacists: Live Young, TWO Times Longer. The two co-authors completed a third book which was then published in 2019: Small Guide to Longevity. Passionate about science and innovation, he is the father of three children and now wants to communicate his passion to help people age well; live healthier, longer. To learn more about Dr. Eric Simard, visit his website www.esimard.com/en/.

Studies and experiences

  • Founding President of Technologie Biolactis – 1999 – 2001
  • Vice President of Technological Development of Technologie Biolactis – 2001 – 2005
  • Vice President of Exploitation of Technologie Biolactis – 2005 – 2007
  • Vice President of Operations of Technologie Biolactis – 2007 – 2010
  • Doctorate in Biology from INRS, Institut Armand-Frappier – 2008
  • President of l’Association pour les ingrédients santé en alimentation – 2004 – 2012
  • Administraot of Fondation Initia – 2013 – 2016
  • Chair of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC – Québec) – since 2008
  • Appointed by the Ministers Council on the Commission de l’éthique en science et technologies – 2017
  • Vice-President of Science and Development of Bio-K Plus International – 2010 – 2011
  • Vice President of Science and Development of Neptune Technologies & Bioressources Inc. – 2011 – 2013
  • Presenter at numerous scientific congresses and trainer alongside nutritionists, pharmacists and doctors – since 2002
  • President of Idunn Technologies (company specialized in the field of aging and which markets the Vitoli® product line) – since 2013
To this end, and following important discoveries made with Concordia University, he also created the Vitoli® product line. With the collaboration of two specialized pharmacists, the Vitoli® product line has been developed to reintegrate higher quality products into the practice of pharmacists and doctors. These are much higher standards than those required by Canadian regulations. Formulations at the cutting edge of scientific knowledge, specialized for healthy aging, higher quality ingredients and sufficient quantities, all this to provide greater efficacy and product safety (www.vitoli.ca).
Dr Eric Simard in a Jean Coutu to promote Vitoli with a pharmacist

Chercheur écrivant les résultats d'une éprouvette

Dr Eric Simard

Dr Simard est à l’origine de découvertes importantes pour ralentir les processus du vieillissement. Scientifique de formation, il a toujours été particulièrement intéressé par l’environnement et la santé humaine. Ainsi, dès son baccalauréat, Dr Simard a redémarré les laboratoires d’écologie aquatique de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, en mobilisant des professeurs et en élaborant deux nouveaux programmes de recherche. Travaillant déjà sur un troisième programme de recherche, cette fois-ci en santé humaine, toujours durant ses études graduées, il décida de poursuivre ce sujet au doctorat, à l’INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier de Laval. Ses études graduées furent supportées par l’obtention de 7 bourses d’excellence et 5 prix/honneurs.

Dr Simard est originaire d’un petit village du Lac-Saint-Jean, d’une famille très modeste. Son père ayant été gravement malade alors qu’il était encore au secondaire, il s’est promis de faire une différence en santé humaine, particulièrement par la prévention. C’est ainsi qu’il décida, en 2013, d’amorcer de nouveaux travaux de recherche sur le vieillissement humain.

Photo du Dr Eric Simard, souriant

Conscient que les connaissances actuelles permettaient déjà de formuler un grand nombre de recommandations, afin de vieillir en santé, Dr Simard se lança dans l’écriture d’un livre. En collaborant avec trois autres professionnels de la santé, il passa en revue plus de 400 références scientifiques afin de créer le meilleur outil de référence. Il développa, en parallèle, un des plus gros réseaux de professionnels de la santé (sur LinkedIn), destiné à la prévention et aux saines habitudes de vie. Dr Simard est un développeur apprécié et un communicateur recherché.

Le premier livre étant un bestseller au Québec, Dr Simard décida d’en écrire un second en collaboration avec Dr Jacques Lambert, MD et deux pharmaciens : Vivre jeune DEUX fois plus longtemps. Les deux co-auteurs ont complété un troisième livre qui fut publié en 2019 : Petit guide de longévité. Passionné de science et d’innovation, il est père de trois enfants et souhaite maintenant communiquer sa passion afin d’aider les gens à bien vieillir ; vivre en santé, plus longtemps. Pour en connaître davantage sur le Dr Eric Simard, rendez-vous sur son site web www.esimard.com.

Études et expériences

  • Président fondateur de Technologie Biolactis — 1999 – 2001
  • Vice-président au développement technologique de Technologie Biolactis — 2001 – 2005
  • Vice-président Exploitation de Technologie Biolactis — 2005 – 2007
  • Vice-président aux Opérations de Technologie Biolactis — 2007 – 2010
  • Doctorat en biologie de l’INRS, Institut Armand-Frappier — 2008
  • Président de l’Association pour les ingrédients santé en alimentation — 2004 – 2012
  • Administrateur de la Fondation Initia — 2013 – 2016
  • Président du comité consultatif du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG – Québec) — depuis 2008
  • Nommé par le Conseil des Ministres sur la Commission de l’éthique en science et technologies — 2017
  • Vice-président Science et développement de Bio-K Plus International — 2010 – 2011
  • Vice-président Science et développement de Neptune Technologies & Bioressources Inc. — 2011 – 2013
  • Présentateur dans un grand nombre de congrès scientifiques et formateur auprès des nutritionnistes, pharmaciens et médecins — depuis 2002
  • Président d’Idunn Technologies (entreprise spécialisée dans le domaine du vieillissement et qui commercialise la gamme VitoliMD) — depuis 2013
À cette fin, et suite aux découvertes importantes réalisées avec l’Université Concordia, il a aussi créé la gamme de produits VitoliMD. Avec la collaboration de deux pharmaciens spécialisés, la ligne de produits VitoliMD a été développée pour réintégrer des produits de plus grande qualité dans la pratique des pharmaciens et des médecins. Il s’agit de standards beaucoup plus élevés que ceux exigés par la réglementation canadienne. Des formulations à la fine pointe des connaissances scientifiques, spécialisées pour un vieillissement en santé, des ingrédients de plus grande qualité et en quantité suffisante, tout ceci pour offrir une plus grande efficacité et sécurité des produits (www.vitoli.ca).
Dr Eric Simard dans un Jean Coutu pour faire promotion de Vitoli avec une pharmacienne